Our website uses cookies to improve your experience. Click here to see our Cookie Policy.

Accept and Close this Notice
Specialist source for the best Jazz & Nostalgia CDs around | Upbeat Mail Order
0843 658 0856
Source of the best jazz &
nostalgia CDs around today
Basket: 0 items / £0.00 + shipping view basket


CD / Product Number: URCD147

This welcome reissue from Humphrey Lyttelton's Calligraph label is dedicated to the memory of one of British jazz's most original and best-loved musicians -Bruce Turner who died prematurely from a brain tumour in 1993. The first 10 tracks feature the Bruce Turner Quartet - Bruce Turner - Dave Cliff - Dave Green - Eddie Taylor, originally recorded in 1985. Plus three bonus tracks from Humphrey Lyttelton and his Band featuring Humph with Bruce Turner - John Barnes - Pete Strange - Mick Payne - Paul Bridge - Adrian Macintosh recorded at The Bull's Head.


The Dirty Bopper

Tracks 1 to 10 The Bruce Turner Quartet, Tracks 11 to 13 Humphrey Lyttelton and his band

1. Sandpiper
2. Turner Minor
3. April
4. Toddington Toddle
5. Have You Met Miss Jones
6. The Dirty Bopper
7. Laura
8. Alto Chop Suey
9. Body and Soul
10. The Sinner
11. Caribana Queen
12. High Society
13. Three Little Words

Reviews of This Recording

Upbeat are doing an excellent job in restoring important British jazz records to the current CD racks. Jazz Rag