Our website uses cookies to improve your experience. Click here to see our Cookie Policy.

Accept and Close this Notice
Specialist source for the best Jazz & Nostalgia CDs around | Upbeat Mail Order
0843 658 0856
Source of the best jazz &
nostalgia CDs around today
Basket: 0 items / £0.00 + shipping view basket

CAPTURED MOMENTS - Ken Colyer's Jazzmen and Skiffle Group

CAPTURED MOMENTS - Ken Colyer's Jazzmen and Skiffle Group
CD / Product Number: URCD165

This is a CD of vintage Colyer dating from 1955. The famous radio broadcast from NDR in Germany is released for the first time ever. The sound is broadcast quality and the band is on excellent form. These rare recordings represent a significant link in the Colyer discography. This is the classic Colyer front line recorded 19th March 1955 in Hamburg, Germany. Ken Colyer with Ian Wheeler, Mac Duncan, Peter Hunck, Diz Disley, Dick Smith, Mukki Herman and Stan Greig. Plus 3 tracks of the Colyer Skiffle Group featuring Ken with Stan Grieg, Dick Smith and Bill Colyer.



Ken Colyers Skiffle Group tracks 5,6,7 Ken Colyer, guitar,vocals, Stan Greig, piano Dick Smith, bass Bill Colyer, washboard

1. Introduction and announcement - Ken Colyer 0.37
2. Mama Dont Allow - find composer 6.02
3. Gettysburg March - trad 4.36
4. Maryland My Maryland - trad 5.48
5. Nobody Knows the trouble Ive Seen - trad 2.36
6. Glory - trad 2.29
7. Down by the Riverside - trad arr Colyer 2.55
8. Lord Lord Lord - trad arr Colyer 5.27
9. Michigan Water Blues - F Morton 5.50
10. Just a Closer Walk with Thee - trad 6.31
11. Chimes Blues - Oliver 5.21
12. Sheik of Araby - Smith-Wheeler-Snyder 5.11
13. Ace in the Hole - Dempsey-Mitchel 4.20
14. Hilarity Rag - James Scott 2.57
15. When The Saints Go Marching In - trad 5.51

Reviews of This Recording

Colyers intention to really being the spirit of the music to you is fulfilled with a direct simplicity borne out of dedication and integrity. Jazz Rag